Summer harvest

I am sorry, but since I have not been able to do any sewing this summer since my accident, I have not been able to make anything new and exciting, sewing-wise. But, I have been healing, which also means my husband has been insistently asking that I make him some jelly. Then we had an early frost; yes, even Fairbanks, Alaska does not usually have a frost this early in August, so, after our wonderful warm summer allowed our tomato plants to produce tons of tomatoes, they ended up frosted while still green. So, what to do with several pounds of green tomatoes?

First, I made some chokecherry jelly from the chokecherries on the tree next to our house.

20130830-194506.jpg20130830-194548.jpg

Then I was able to make 9 pints of green tomato mincemeat. That will sure make some yummy pies this fall. Finally, I made a big pot of spaghetti sauce with lots of fresh veggies. I included some chopped starting-to-ripen green tomatoes, which worked really well. Now there’s tomato sauce in the freezer as well. I still hope to make some relish, but we’ll have to see if I get around to that or not.

At least I am starting to contribute to the family again, even if sewing will have to wait a little bit longer.

Fondly,
Sherilyn

Leave a Reply

Materia Medica

by Chloe Sobejko

Plant Therapy Blog

A creative home for machine embroidery, sewing, and serger projects and techniques.

Keirsten's Kitchen

It's Paleo... ish

Notorious Beauty Blog

I believe in manicures. I believe in primping at leisure and wearing lipstick. I believe happy girls are the prettiest girls. -Audrey Hepburn

Cat Eyes Red Lips

Beauty, Fashion, Lifestyle

theimaginationmuscle

Birthplace to all ideas:please, let me share a few of my own.

adoptingjames

Read our Mission. Find out how you can help us adopt James.

Dresses & Me

I love to sew

knit the hell out

More obsessed with each passing stitch.

M&J Blog

A creative home for machine embroidery, sewing, and serger projects and techniques.

Blumenkinder Heirlooms

Gracious Living by the Yard

The Seeds of 3

Sewing, Gardening, and Homeschooling Adventures

Sewnhenge

Sewing Quilting Living Loving

WeAreDAR

To Give. Globally.

dianedziel

fashion design is also pattern making and sewing

