Hand Smocked Dress

My granddaughter finally grew into the dress I smocked for her when she was born, as I described in this post. I used a pre-pleated dress from Martha Pullen Company, which I hand-smocked and embellished the hem.

I think she really enhances the dress, but then again, I couldn’t be biased, could I?

20130809-122332.jpg

20130809-122345.jpg

20130809-122353.jpg

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. justine
    Aug 14, 2013 @ 15:53:25

    This dress is just so beautiful. I have always wanted to try smocking. It looks very difficult!

    Reply

    • Sherilyn, Cherished Needle Creations
      Aug 14, 2013 @ 20:29:25

      Thank you so much. Smocking really isn’t difficult to learn. Like any other skill, it takes careful practice to do well, but the practice is both enjoyable and easy to learn. This was my first real project, and it is far from perfect. I still had a wonderful time stitching it, and if you enjoy hand embroidery at all, I would highly recommend trying smocking.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Materia Medica

by Chloe Sobejko

Plant Therapy Blog

A creative home for machine embroidery, sewing, and serger projects and techniques.

Keirsten's Kitchen

It's Paleo... ish

Notorious Beauty Blog

I believe in manicures. I believe in primping at leisure and wearing lipstick. I believe happy girls are the prettiest girls. -Audrey Hepburn

Cat Eyes Red Lips

Beauty, Fashion, Lifestyle

theimaginationmuscle

Birthplace to all ideas:please, let me share a few of my own.

adoptingjames

Read our Mission. Find out how you can help us adopt James.

Dresses & Me

I love to sew

knit the hell out

More obsessed with each passing stitch.

M&J Blog

A creative home for machine embroidery, sewing, and serger projects and techniques.

Blumenkinder Heirlooms

Gracious Living by the Yard

The Seeds of 3

Sewing, Gardening, and Homeschooling Adventures

Sewnhenge

Sewing Quilting Living Loving

WeAreDAR

To Give. Globally.

dianedziel

fashion design is also pattern making and sewing

