The unexpected from unusual fabrics

One of the reasons I love teaching classes without kits is I get to see one project presented lot of different ways.  Recently I taught a class for a traditionally sewn heirloom pillow sleeve.  The original was all cream and white, with the main fabric being an ecru silk dupione.  One of my students came with a lovely little floral fabric, and her pillow was absolutely adorable.  So, step out of the box and use a new fabric.  You  might enjoy your creation even more than what the pattern suggested!

IMG_1520

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Notorious Beauty Blog
    Jun 11, 2013 @ 16:57:25

    http://notoriousbeautyblog.com/2013/06/10/the-shine-on-blog-award/
    I absolutly love what you are doing with your blog 🙂 You are the best 😉
    I left a little something for you here! Make sure to check it out.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Materia Medica

by Chloe Sobejko

Plant Therapy Blog

A creative home for machine embroidery, sewing, and serger projects and techniques.

Keirsten's Kitchen

It's Paleo... ish

Notorious Beauty Blog

I believe in manicures. I believe in primping at leisure and wearing lipstick. I believe happy girls are the prettiest girls. -Audrey Hepburn

Cat Eyes Red Lips

Beauty, Fashion, Lifestyle

theimaginationmuscle

Birthplace to all ideas:please, let me share a few of my own.

adoptingjames

Read our Mission. Find out how you can help us adopt James.

Dresses & Me

I love to sew

knit the hell out

More obsessed with each passing stitch.

M&J Blog

A creative home for machine embroidery, sewing, and serger projects and techniques.

Blumenkinder Heirlooms

Gracious Living by the Yard

The Seeds of 3

Sewing, Gardening, and Homeschooling Adventures

Sewnhenge

Sewing Quilting Living Loving

WeAreDAR

To Give. Globally.

dianedziel

fashion design is also pattern making and sewing

