Christening Gown Slip

Thanks to Carole whose comment on my christening gown post encouraged me to make a slip to go with the gown.  I made it from batiste, to keep it cooler and lighter under the heavy bridal satin skirt.  The gown is ivory, but I embroidered the slip with ivory thread on white batiste.

The designs surrounding the main monogram are from the large design on the gown’s skirt.

The swirls were from a design set, and all the lettering came from Monogram Wizard Plus and BES Lettering.

I was especially excited about the bottom edge, as I used my Precise Positioning feature for the first time and created a beautiful, continuous border.  This border embroidery comes from Kathy Harrison of  Custom Keepsakes.  Her embroideries are wonderful!

My one disappointment was in making the coverstitch pintucks.  When I opened the new pintucking foot I had bought (the dealer has gone out of business now), I found that one of the important pieces was missing.  I tried to fix it a different way, but the tucks did not form.  Oh, well.  Instead they are just a shadow embroidery embellishment, so not all is lost, even if they are not what I had originally hoped for.

(Apologies that the slip is not fully ironed in the photos.)

Leave a Reply

Materia Medica

by Chloe Sobejko

Plant Therapy Blog

A creative home for machine embroidery, sewing, and serger projects and techniques.

Keirsten's Kitchen

It's Paleo... ish

Notorious Beauty Blog

I believe in manicures. I believe in primping at leisure and wearing lipstick. I believe happy girls are the prettiest girls. -Audrey Hepburn

Cat Eyes Red Lips

Beauty, Fashion, Lifestyle

theimaginationmuscle

Birthplace to all ideas:please, let me share a few of my own.

adoptingjames

Read our Mission. Find out how you can help us adopt James.

Dresses & Me

I love to sew

knit the hell out

More obsessed with each passing stitch.

M&J Blog

A creative home for machine embroidery, sewing, and serger projects and techniques.

Blumenkinder Heirlooms

Gracious Living by the Yard

The Seeds of 3

Sewing, Gardening, and Homeschooling Adventures

Sewnhenge

Sewing Quilting Living Loving

WeAreDAR

To Give. Globally.

dianedziel

fashion design is also pattern making and sewing

