Smocking the traditional way

I am thrilled to have finished my second smocking project, only this time done by hand. I smocked a bishop dress for my new granddaughter. Although I know I have some work to do to improve my technique, I found hand smocking to be thoroughly enjoyable and rewarding. I am looking forward to my next project already. I found smocking to be more portable than some of the other handwork I enjoy, so perhaps I will actually get some projects completed before my three week old granddaughter enters college. 20120510-225300.jpg

20120510-225319.jpg

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ria
    May 11, 2012 @ 04:19:48

    I love how smocking looks, but I’ve never actually tries doing it for myself. I’ll have to change that, one of these days. Love the dress!

    Reply

    • Sherilyn, Cherished Needle Creations
      May 11, 2012 @ 06:48:12

      Thank you.
      You should try it! I was always told smocking was easy and I was told rightly. It is quite easy to do, especially if you have any hand embroidery experience. Of course, as with other such skills, doing it well takes practice. I do have hope, though, that I will learn fairly quickly since the basics are so straightforward. I recommend smocking to anyone who likes handwork.

      Reply

      • Ria
        May 11, 2012 @ 08:20:12

        I love embroidery, and love handwork! Smocking really does seem like it would be right up my alley! 🙂 I’ve got a couple of magazines that have good instructions for smocking patterns in them, so I’ll give those a read and see what I can come up with.

  2. Trackback: Hand Smocked Dress | Cherished Needle Creations

Leave a Reply

Materia Medica

by Chloe Sobejko

Plant Therapy Blog

A creative home for machine embroidery, sewing, and serger projects and techniques.

Keirsten's Kitchen

It's Paleo... ish

Notorious Beauty Blog

I believe in manicures. I believe in primping at leisure and wearing lipstick. I believe happy girls are the prettiest girls. -Audrey Hepburn

Cat Eyes Red Lips

Beauty, Fashion, Lifestyle

theimaginationmuscle

Birthplace to all ideas:please, let me share a few of my own.

adoptingjames

Read our Mission. Find out how you can help us adopt James.

Dresses & Me

I love to sew

knit the hell out

More obsessed with each passing stitch.

M&J Blog

A creative home for machine embroidery, sewing, and serger projects and techniques.

Blumenkinder Heirlooms

Gracious Living by the Yard

The Seeds of 3

Sewing, Gardening, and Homeschooling Adventures

Sewnhenge

Sewing Quilting Living Loving

WeAreDAR

To Give. Globally.

dianedziel

fashion design is also pattern making and sewing

