The Christening Gown is Finished

I finally finished the christening gown I made from my daughter’s wedding dress. (see previous posts.)

I faced several challenges even up to the end. Finding nice buttons was more difficult than I expected. I am pleased with the result, but I had to compromise.
The real nightmare was the buttonholes. The waistband had seam allowances filling half of it, making the surface uneven. My buttonhole foot kept jamming up or slipping off to the side. I finally used what is called a manual buttonhole foot, where you control more of the motion, and got buttonholes that were almost okay. I hate it when you have made this beautiful item of clothing and then the last step,the buttonholes, goes awry.

Then, for some reason, I could not sew the buttons on right for anything. I think that was because I was still do frustrated about the buttonholes.

The one big final decision I made that turned out well was on the hem. I had originally use the shaped hemline from the original gown, train and all. A baby being christened is held with the back of the skirt lower than the front, making the inside of the skirt’s train visible. Since I reduced bulk by leaving off the lining, this looked messy. I finally decided to cut into that lovely satin one last time to even up the hem. It was much better that way.
So the final gown, with romper and attached skirt is finished and safely with my daughter who we expect will deliver the baby in the next 24 hours or so.

20120415-153844.jpg

20120415-153924.jpg

20120415-154157.jpg

20120415-154207.jpg

I am visiting my daughter as I write this. We leave for the hospital in a couple hours. I’ll be sure to let everyone know all about the baby when it is born. Welcome Grandbaby#1!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. dressesandme
    Apr 15, 2012 @ 16:41:39

    That is beautiful and congratulations on your first grandchild!

    Reply

    • Sherilyn, Cherished Needle Creations
      Apr 15, 2012 @ 17:04:30

      Thank you so much. And it’s so nice to know that my daughter and her husband are going to be wonderful parents. I am truly blessed!

      Reply

      • Carole West
        Apr 16, 2012 @ 05:24:28

        Sherilyn, Did you create a slip, on which the name of the baby can be embroidered, along with the birth date? When I made a christening gown from my daughter’s wedding gown, it eventually had fabric from all three siblings’ gowns. The slip now has seven names and dates on it…… a true “family heirloom”.

      • Sherilyn, Cherished Needle Creations
        Apr 16, 2012 @ 11:06:07

        I considered a slip, but with the weight of the skirt I didn’t want to add more, plus the style didn’t seem to work well with the slip. I am still considering it, though. Maybe if I make it from batiste it will be light enough. Do you think that would work? Would an elastic waist on the slip be too tacky?

      • Sherilyn, Cherished Needle Creations
        May 14, 2012 @ 09:39:46

        Carole,
        I did finally make a slip, complete with baby’s name and birth date. Since the gown itself was already heavy, being made from bridal satin, I made the slip from batiste, to keep the weight down and so that it would be cooler under the heavy satin skirt.
        Thanks for the encouragement!

Leave a Reply

Materia Medica

by Chloe Sobejko

Plant Therapy Blog

A creative home for machine embroidery, sewing, and serger projects and techniques.

Keirsten's Kitchen

It's Paleo... ish

Notorious Beauty Blog

I believe in manicures. I believe in primping at leisure and wearing lipstick. I believe happy girls are the prettiest girls. -Audrey Hepburn

Cat Eyes Red Lips

Beauty, Fashion, Lifestyle

theimaginationmuscle

Birthplace to all ideas:please, let me share a few of my own.

adoptingjames

Read our Mission. Find out how you can help us adopt James.

Dresses & Me

I love to sew

knit the hell out

More obsessed with each passing stitch.

M&J Blog

A creative home for machine embroidery, sewing, and serger projects and techniques.

Blumenkinder Heirlooms

Gracious Living by the Yard

The Seeds of 3

Sewing, Gardening, and Homeschooling Adventures

Sewnhenge

Sewing Quilting Living Loving

WeAreDAR

To Give. Globally.

dianedziel

fashion design is also pattern making and sewing

