UFO’s, what we leave behind, and taming the clutter

I would love to tame my clutter, but so far no luck.  I have a renewed drive to do so, though, given my recent experience dealing with some of the things my mother-in-law left behind when she recently passed away.  When visiting my brother-in-law’s house a couple of weeks ago, his wife took me into a room where she had organized all the yarn, crochet cottons, and yarn-related tools my mother-in-law, an avid crocheter, had left accumulated.  The piles took up half the room, and that was after it was organized.  Since I am the only other dedicated needleworker in the family, I was told I could take what I wanted.

It was quite overwhelming, but seeing such a huge pile was exactly what helped me to hold myself back from being overly greedy.  I did take all the crochet cotton that my niece didn’t want, but the yarn, all acrylic for Mom’s many afghans, did not make it into my bags.  I took some vintage Stretch N Sew sewing patterns, which I do hope I can use.

I also took 4 unfinished afghans, which I hope to finish and then distribute to my children, as a reminder of their very gracious and generous grandmother.  I feel honored to take on this task, but it is yet another project interjecting itself into my too-long-list of projects that I am always trying to shorten.

This has definitely made me think of my piles- of the piles of beautiful wool I have yet to knit into equally beautiful sweaters, of the piles of fabric that has yet to become quilts and clothing, and of the piles of all the other stuff that goes with the fabric, like ribbons and, don’t even start to ask me about the embroidery thread.  Last year I made a commitment to work on UFO’s and not to buy fabric, only to use what I already had.  I did pretty well.  Other things have gotten in the way of that this year, but seeing Mom’s stash has made me recommit to finishing projects I have started, and using what I already have instead of buying more.  I hope it works this time!

This week I have already almost finished my dad’s birthday quilt – the quilt I started last June.  At least I will have completed it within a year of initiation.  🙂  I’ll post a picture when it’s complete.  Wish me luck with taming my clutter and busting my stash, and I wish you the same.  None of us wants to leave this to others to deal with when we pass.   Let’s enjoy it ourselves today.

 

 

 

© Sherilyn Siegmund-Roach and Cherished Needle Creations

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. candy
    Apr 04, 2012 @ 05:15:03

    I shudder to think what I’m leaving behind. One project out…a new one in. Although, this year I decided to finsh up some things. Not so much because I want to leave less behind, but because I really like them and want to see them finished to enjoy them!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Materia Medica

by Chloe Sobejko

Plant Therapy Blog

A creative home for machine embroidery, sewing, and serger projects and techniques.

Keirsten's Kitchen

It's Paleo... ish

Notorious Beauty Blog

I believe in manicures. I believe in primping at leisure and wearing lipstick. I believe happy girls are the prettiest girls. -Audrey Hepburn

Cat Eyes Red Lips

Beauty, Fashion, Lifestyle

theimaginationmuscle

Birthplace to all ideas:please, let me share a few of my own.

adoptingjames

Read our Mission. Find out how you can help us adopt James.

Dresses & Me

I love to sew

knit the hell out

More obsessed with each passing stitch.

M&J Blog

A creative home for machine embroidery, sewing, and serger projects and techniques.

Blumenkinder Heirlooms

Gracious Living by the Yard

The Seeds of 3

Sewing, Gardening, and Homeschooling Adventures

Sewnhenge

Sewing Quilting Living Loving

WeAreDAR

To Give. Globally.

dianedziel

fashion design is also pattern making and sewing

