Family

I have had a wonderful week with my daughter visiting on her spring break.  But, what have I accomplished this week?  Washing clothes, washing dishes, cooking meals, going to the aquarium (the Georgia Aquarium in Atlanta is marvelous, by the way), going to the zoo, and going to a wonderful promotion ceremony.  We’ve been together, we’ve had fun, the greatest of which was getting to ride horses together again.  I struggle because my projects, with deadlines, have been put aside, more have been added yet again, and everything I’ve done this week has been ephemeral.  Washing dishes and clothes – it never ends.  The aquarium – now a memory.

Yet, my daughter has had a good spring break, or so she tells me.  She does not want to go back to school, although she loves it there and will be very happy once she’s back with her friends.  Isn’t this what we are really about? Family and relationships?  Isn’t this what builds out society?

So, I remind myself that it is only one week and my bond with my daughter is strengthened yet again. This is a forever bond and worth every moment of effort.  Nothing I invest in this bond with my children or my husband is ever wasted.  It’s like deposits in the bank – I must make deposits, or in those times when I am not a nice person to be around, I will have nothing on which to draw, and they will have nothing to give.  Not that this should be the reason for the bond, but it is a part of how family and society work.  It also means my daughter has made deposits in my “bank” this week.

I think I am one of the luckiest and most blessed mothers on this planet to have a daughter who loves me and wants to be with me.  Yes, this week was time well-spent.  The projects can wait. My daughter is more precious than any one of those tangible projects.

 

 

 

© Sherilyn Siegmund-Roach and Cherished Needle Creations

Leave a Reply

Materia Medica

by Chloe Sobejko

Plant Therapy Blog

A creative home for machine embroidery, sewing, and serger projects and techniques.

Keirsten's Kitchen

It's Paleo... ish

Notorious Beauty Blog

I believe in manicures. I believe in primping at leisure and wearing lipstick. I believe happy girls are the prettiest girls. -Audrey Hepburn

Cat Eyes Red Lips

Beauty, Fashion, Lifestyle

theimaginationmuscle

Birthplace to all ideas:please, let me share a few of my own.

adoptingjames

Read our Mission. Find out how you can help us adopt James.

Dresses & Me

I love to sew

knit the hell out

More obsessed with each passing stitch.

M&J Blog

A creative home for machine embroidery, sewing, and serger projects and techniques.

Blumenkinder Heirlooms

Gracious Living by the Yard

The Seeds of 3

Sewing, Gardening, and Homeschooling Adventures

Sewnhenge

Sewing Quilting Living Loving

WeAreDAR

To Give. Globally.

dianedziel

fashion design is also pattern making and sewing

