The Needlearts

In the last couple of months I have had a couple of friends, old and new, ask me to teach them to tat.  I love tatting, but I my tatting projects have been sorely neglected for the last couple of years.  That is the problem with having so many needleart passions.  I crochet, knit, spin, tat, hand embroider, machine embroider, and my sewing includes quilting, home decor, accessories, and fashion sewing.  At any given time I am obsessed by one or more of these arts and cannot get enough.  It does make it hard to focus, though, when one has so many loves, and it means many projects languish, waiting for the next time I get around to obsessing on that particular style of needlework.

What makes it worse is that since I am the only family member who does any of these things, my family keeps requesting projects. Unfortunately, especially with my children, most of those projects require mending, which does not qualify one of the fun sewing activities in my book.  For every project I complete, there are several more that have been put on my list.

I have become very good at snatching 10, 20, or 30 minutes at a time to fit in bits and pieces of projects along the way.  I often group several projects that have similar steps, such as cutting out the patterns, cutting 2 1/2 inch strips, using my Accuquilt GO! to cut the pieces, or serging seams.  I can then focus on one step, and move several projects along at the same time.

As for my tatting, I have been excited to wander the Web and see how many people are not only still tatting, but are advancing the craft.  Last night, as I picked up my shuttle again for the first time in a while, it was almost as wonderful as eating dark chocolate.  My hands remembered the correct motions, and although the result was a little rusty at first, my hands were immediately right at home making double stitches, picots, rings, and chains.  I hope today has a few extra hours in it, so that I can add tatting back into my life without having to dump something else out.

Does your project list grow exponentially?  Do you have a room full of yarn and fabric dreams, waiting to be made up into beautiful products?  What sorts of tricks have you learned along the way to make sure your projects become products?

I remain tattingly yours,

Sherilyn

Leave a Reply

Materia Medica

by Chloe Sobejko

Plant Therapy Blog

A creative home for machine embroidery, sewing, and serger projects and techniques.

Keirsten's Kitchen

It's Paleo... ish

Notorious Beauty Blog

I believe in manicures. I believe in primping at leisure and wearing lipstick. I believe happy girls are the prettiest girls. -Audrey Hepburn

Cat Eyes Red Lips

Beauty, Fashion, Lifestyle

theimaginationmuscle

Birthplace to all ideas:please, let me share a few of my own.

adoptingjames

Read our Mission. Find out how you can help us adopt James.

Dresses & Me

I love to sew

knit the hell out

More obsessed with each passing stitch.

M&J Blog

A creative home for machine embroidery, sewing, and serger projects and techniques.

Blumenkinder Heirlooms

Gracious Living by the Yard

The Seeds of 3

Sewing, Gardening, and Homeschooling Adventures

Sewnhenge

Sewing Quilting Living Loving

WeAreDAR

To Give. Globally.

dianedziel

fashion design is also pattern making and sewing

